• But you don't know anyone

    Yes, it is the best way. I can't live under the same roof as Mr. Talbot. Besides I am now sixteen. It is time I was earning my own living.

    But that is not necessary, Robert. I have enough for you.

    I know it, but I can't live on you all my life. I want to go out into the world, and see what I can do for myself.

    Take time to think it over, Robert. You are not through school.

    I shall be very soon. I have a good education already, and I can get along.

    What do you want to do?

    I don't know yet. Something will open up for me.

    Wait till next week, pleaded his mother.

    No, I must go this very day. I have had a fight with Mr. Talbot, and I can't stay in the house any longer.

    Oh, Robert, you will make me very unhappy.

    I am sorry for that, mother, but I don't see how I can help it. Look on the bright side. I think things will turn out well for me.

    [Pg 49]

    If you must go, you must let me give you some money, and Mrs. Talbot, rising, went to her secretary.

    No, mother; I have twenty dollars laid by. That will do for the present. When that is gone I will write you for some more.

    Will you promise to do it, Robert?

    Yes, mother?

    Where do you think of going?

    To Chicago, first.

    But you don't know anyone there, and I am told there are a great many bad men there who might lead you into temptation.

    I hope I am strong enough to resist them. But I must go upstairs and get ready.

    Robert went up to his chamber and drew out from a closet a large grip-sack. Into this he put hurriedly a supply of shirts, socks, handkerchiefs, and underclothing.

    I came near forgetting a comb and brush, he said to himself, unlocking the grip-sack after it was closed. I am not used to traveling, but I suppose I shall be in time.

    Meanwhile, Mr. Talbot after taking time to recover his equanimity, sought his wife.

    Mrs. T., he said, your promising son is getting worse and worse.


  • Commentaires

    Aucun commentaire pour le moment

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Ajouter un commentaire

    Nom / Pseudo :

    E-mail (facultatif) :

    Site Web (facultatif) :

    Commentaire :